About Us

Wintergarden Groundwater Conservation District

The District was created in 1997 by the 75th Legislature with the enactment of House Bill 3602 (“Appendix A”). In its enabling legislation, the District was provided the powers and duties provided by the general law of the state of Texas, including Chapter 36 of the Texas Water Code, applicable to groundwater conservation districts created under Section 59, Article XVI of the Texas Constitution. The District was confirmed by election in January 1998. The initial tax rate was $0.04 per $100.00 valuation. The District’s current tax rate is $0.00573 per $100.00 valuation. The District retains the authority and responsibilities specified in its enabling act, Chapter 36 of the Texas Water Code, the TWDB rules, this groundwater Management Plan, and the District rules as they may be amended.

The boundaries of the District are coextensive with the boundaries of Zavala, Dimmit and La Salle counties. This includes approximately 2,685,148 acres, or 4,195 square miles. A map showing the District boundaries is contained in “Appendix B”.

The Board of Directors is made up of seven (7) members. Two (2) directors are elected from each of the three (3) counties within the district, Dimmit, Zavala and La Salle counties in addition to one director at large from the District. Board members serve staggered terms and Board elections are every two years.

The District has the rights and responsibilities provided for in Texas Water Code Chapter 36 and 31 Texas Administrative Code Chapter 356. The District exercises the authority given to preserve and protect the groundwater resources of the District through the adoption and implementation of District Rules.

The aquifers within the District include the Sparta, Queen City, Carrizo-Wilcox, and Yegua-Jackson.

Board Members

Bill Martin

Dimmit County Director

J. R. Ramirez

Vice President

Chris Meyer

La Salle County Director

Mario Escobar

Zavala County Director

John Petry

Dimmit County Director

Martin Kruger

La Salle County Director

Lott Whitwell

Zavala County Director

Mission Statement

The mission of the Wintergarden Groundwater Conservation District (WGCD) is to manage, preserve and protect the groundwater resources within the District’s boundaries. The District will work to minimize the further drawdown of water levels, prevent the waste of groundwater, prevent interference between wells, protect the existing and historic use of groundwater, prevent the degradation of the quality of groundwater, use public education to promote water conservation, give consideration to the needs of the agricultural community and carry out the powers and duties conferred under Chapter 36 of the Texas Water Code. Any action taken by the District shall be only after full consideration and respect has been afforded to the individual property rights of all citizens of the District.


Conservation District

Contact Us

Debbie Farmer, General Manager

Mailing Address:
P. O. Box 1433 | Carrizo Springs, TX 78834

Physical Address:
2881 Hwy. 277 West | Carrizo Springs, TX 78834

Phone: 830-876-3801
Fax: 830-876-3782
Email: wgcd@wgcd.net

Registration Form/Permit

To receive a copy of a registration form or permit, please call or use our online contact form.

Online Contact Form